Do we HAVE to have sex?

I was reading some reviews of an audio book I’d recently listened to, mainly because I hated the narrator chosen to read the book. He was horribly wrong for the book, and pretty much ruined a good story. And I wanted to know if others felt the same way (they did!). But I was also a little annoyed at other comments I read. Two readers of the book disliked that there was no on page sex in the story. Hey, that’s what they want in a story. Fine for them. Me, I prefer no sex / fade to black. That’s me. But one line really gnawed at me.  I’m paraphrasing here, but it went something like: “This wasn’t a romance because there was no on page sex.”

What the everloving f*ck?

There was romance. Guys falling in love, going through hardships, finally getting their HEA. How is this not a romance?

Must MM romance be so rigid? Must every story fall into the same box, square peg in the square hole? Can’t we have wiggle room?

Or do we all have to write dot to dot stories, just changing the names and locations? I’m pretty sure the world is big enough to have books about gay men who fall in love in which there aren’t explicit sex scenes.

Maybe that’s just me.

2 thoughts on “Do we HAVE to have sex?

  1. I so agree with you. When I started reading mm it was so same ole same ole, now I’m finding so many books now that are outside of that box. It’s fantastic. Saying bye bye to those that can’t or won’t write something different

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally agree with you. I know a lot of women want the sex and there are plenty of authors that cater to them, but personally I get gooey over a well written kiss and cuddle lol. Luckily for me my fav authors write more story than sex 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

