I don’t like to get involved in controversy…but…

If you write MM romance, you’re undoubtedly heard at least an inkling of what’s gone down this week. Someone said something, people were offended, it seemed the original people felt attacked, etc. Every now and then something like this comes up. And people, very well meaning people, try to patch things up and say things like, “We’re a community. We should all get along.” Or “The LGTB community are supposed to be accepting. Why are you attacking so and so?”

Here’s a news flash. ANY group has in-fighting sometimes. Because we’re all human beings. We say things sometimes without thinking. We get our feelings hurt, and we lash out. So if you think the MM writing group is somehow exempt, or should be, think again. Never going to happen.

I don’t want to get into the original post that began this whole kerfuffle. It’s been hashed out to death by now. But I will say this: if you write about gay men, and you feel you support gay men and rights of LGTB+ in general…and you post something that gay men feel insulted by, or is misconstrued…try to remember that these are the people you support. If I hear one more person say something like “MM romance isn’t for gay men. It was started by women and it’s for women, and gay men should just keep out of it” I swear I won’t be responsible for my actions.

Jeff Erno wrote a very good piece about this controversy, as did F.E. Feeley and TJ Klune, and they expressed themselves a heck of a lot better than I can. It’s weird that gay men often feel marginalized and excluded in a genre that is supposed to be about them. Is it any wonder that sometimes we  feel like throwing up our hands and just giving up? I know I’ve felt that way several times.

I’m sure I’ll upset someone by posting this, and I sincerely hope that doesn’t happen.  But if it does, contact me. It can be private on Facebook, or leave a message here. Let’s hash it out. Maybe we’ll both learn something.

That’d be nice, wouldn’t it?

Leave a Reply

